Skip to Content

Block Magazine

La créativité a sa place
Printemps/Été 2021
Numéro 22

Terrain à occuper

PAR: Wanda Nanibush and Andrea Fatona
OEUVRE ©: Rebecca Belmore
PHOTO OFFERTE PAR: Art Gallery of Ontario

Dans La conversation précédente, on s’intéressait à la décolonisation du design. On poursuit ici notre réflexion en nous concentrant cette fois sur les stratégies de décolonisation des institutions culturelles avec Wanda Nanibush, artiste anichinabée, éducatrice et conservatrice du Musée des beaux-arts de l’Ontario (AGO en anglais) et Andrea Fatona, conservatrice indépendante et professeure à l’Université de l’École d’art et de design de l’Ontario.

Rebecca Belmore lors de sa performance nuit blanche dans la Cour Walker anichinabée : Untitled, 2016.

Wanda Nanibush : Avant mon arrivée à l’AGO, j’ai passé trois ans à Idle No More. Cela m’a permis de réfléchir à la notion de souveraineté et d’élaborer très tôt des stratégies de découpage de l’espace au musée, et ce, ni lentement ni par étapes.

Andrea Fatona : Comment avez-vous fait pour tenter de mettre l’art autochtone au centre de cet espace?

On [a transformé] le Centre McLean en Centre d’art autochtone et canadien : on a gagné de la place. On a aussi exposé l’art inuit dans quatre autres galeries. Et on essaye de s’emparer du coeur du musée, la Cour Walker, que l’artiste anichinabé Robert Houle occupe déjà depuis 1993. Quand un Autochtone y entre et se retrouve entouré des sept grands-pères, les tambours de Robert, il se sent aussi chez lui. J’ai proposé à Rebecca Belmore de réaliser au sol une peinture à l’argile : elle a tout de suite accepté parce que les tambours étaient là. C’était rendre hommage, en quelque sorte, à sa lignée artistique. On l’appelle désormais la Cour Walker anichinabée : on espère qu’un jour ce sera son nom officiel.

On accueille l’extérieur à l’intérieur : les valeurs extérieures contenues dans les sept grands-pères, qui représentent la philosophie anichinabée et une manière d’être, ainsi que la matière naturelle avec laquelle Rebecca travaille. Les musées dits coloniaux sont faits pour le dessin, la peinture et la sculpture, non pour les disciplines de nos artistes : performance, installation, multimédia, matières naturelles.

« Dans un musée, la place consacrée à une collection et son emplacement témoignent de la valeur qu’on lui accorde. »

 
 

A. F. : Ce qui me frappe, c’est que vous parlez du musée comme d’une revendication territoriale, au lieu d’un « bien immobilier » classique. Ce changement [de vocabulaire] est une sorte d’extraction et d’insertion de nouvelles politiques, celles du territoire, des peuples, de la cosmologie, des êtres. Ces introductions et cette modification terminologique sont cruciales pour transformer le terrain au sein de ces lieux coloniaux.

W. N. : Comme le dit si bien Jolene Rickard [artiste et conservatrice], la souveraineté est une action, pas un objet. C’est ce qui pose le plus de problèmes à l’institution, parce qu’il y a de nombreux changements à faire : le système de valeurs et les fondations sur lesquelles il repose. On ne peut déconstruire du jour au lendemain l’ensemble des hiérarchies de pouvoir, tant la provenance de l’argent que la structure décisionnelle. Mais si on persiste, ça fait écho. C’est comme avec nos aînés : ils ne nous disent pas quoi faire, il nous le montre par leurs actes. On apprend en les observant, en les écoutant, en passant du temps avec eux. L’institution apprend de nous et de nos actions.

A. F. : Et si on parlait de la colère et de la façon dont elle peut nous mener ailleurs? Selon moi, elle fait partie du lien entre ces luttes, que ce soit la Palestine, le déplacement des Autochtones ou le meurtre des Noirs. Il y a un aspect fédérateur dans la colère. Génératif aussi : elle nous aide à aller vers cet autre endroit, qu’on pourrait qualifier de « dé-colonial ». Et c’est ce que beaucoup d’institutions tentent d’étouffer, je crois.

W. N. : La colère m’est utile, elle m’empêche de pleurer. Quand j’ai mal, elle m’aide à surmonter la douleur, à être moins vulnérable. Mais, en tant qu’Anichinabé, on doit être à l’écoute de sa vulnérabilité quand on se bat afin de ne pas devenir performatif sans faire réellement avancer les choses.

A. F. : Il y a beaucoup de colère aujourd’hui, pourtant le reste du monde continue d’avancer comme si [ces injustices étaient] pure aberration. Elles ne le sont pas. Fermer les yeux sur la façon dont tout ceci est lié aux sociétés capitalistes, patriarcales et hétéronormatives, qui puisent leur force dans les idées nationalistes, engendre également de la tristesse. Tout est étroitement lié, comme le dit Angela Davis, pourtant on continue de l’atomiser.

W. N. : Cette tristesse, je commence et termine mes journées avec elle. Cette tristesse, les Autochtones et les Noirs vivent avec depuis des siècles. Mais cette tristesse est aussi mon moteur. Je me demande parfois comment, en ayant grandi dans une réserve, basée sur un système d’apartheid et isolée du reste du monde, j’ai pu atterrir au Moyen-Orient ou comment j’en suis venue à discuter d’esclavage. C’est cette tristesse et notre lien avec l’oppression qui gèrent notre relation à l’autre. Comment ne pas entendre sa douleur? Comment rester les bras croisés?

A. F. : L’autre chose, qui me tient à coeur, est le besoin de recouvrer les pratiques qu’on nous a prises ou qu’on a fait disparaître, et de les remodeler. Remonter dans le temps est difficile, surtout s’il n’existe pas de mise en commun. D’où The State of Blackness : mon projet de plateforme qui réunit toutes ces histoires pour ne pas avoir à réinventer la roue à chaque fois, pour mettre toute l’énergie sur le travail de transformation. L’art est, je crois, un autre moyen.

W. N. : [En tant que conservateurs de musée], on extrait ces pratiques directement des artistes. C’est subtil et c’est la raison pour laquelle je fais ce métier : je veux me plonger dans cette complexité, retirer tout le savoir d’une oeuvre d’art pour le montrer à un public.

A. F. : Je suis contente de ce moment. On est si nombreux et nombreuses à s’engager et de tant de manières, au sein des institutions culturelles et en dehors. Ce qui est très encourageant à mes yeux est que l’on est au courant de ce qu’on fait. Et je crois qu’on a le savoir-faire et le discernement nécessaires pour laisser une marque indélébile. On peut commencer à faire bouger les choses en profondeur dans ces institutions, j’en suis persuadée.

W. N. : Le fait qu’on se soutienne les uns les autres me donne confiance à moi aussi. Cette forme virulente de racisme a toujours été présente. Si elle est devenue aujourd’hui si visible et si violente partout dans le monde, c’est parce que ces idées sont en train de mourir. Le glas a sonné. On doit encore se battre, mais on gagnera.

 

Partager cet article

Skip to Content

Block Magazine

Creativity has its place
Spring/Summer 2021
issue 22

Shifting Ground

BY: Wanda Nanibush and Andrea Fatona
ARTWORK ©: Rebecca Belmore
PHOTO COURTESY OF: Art Gallery of Ontario

In the last issue of Block, The Conversation reflected on the notion of decolonizing design. Here, we continue exploring that critically important topic, focusing this time on strategies for decolonizing our arts institutions. This issue’s conversation is between Wanda Nanibush, an Anishinaabe artist and educator and the curator of Indigenous art at the Art Gallery of Ontario (AGO), and Andrea Fatona, an independent curator and professor at the Ontario College of Art and Design University.

Rebecca Belmore, Untitled, 2016, Nuit Blanche sunset to sunrise performance in Anishinaabe Walker Court.

Wanda Nanibush: Before coming to the AGO, I was involved in Idle No More for three years. It informed a lot of my early strategies in thinking through sovereignty and carving out space in the museum—and not in a slow way, not incrementally.

Andrea Fatona: So how have you been doing in terms of trying to centre Indigeneity within the framework of that space?

WN: The museum shows what it values by what it gives space to—and where that space is. At the AGO, the Indigenous gallery was a hallway outside the bathroom.

We [transformed] the McLean Centre into the Indigenous & Canadian Art Centre, grabbing a bunch more space and expanding Inuit art into four other gallery spaces. And we’ve been trying to take over the centre of the building—Walker Court—which Anishinaabe artist Robert Houle has been engaged in since 1993. Indigenous folks, when they step into that space and are surrounded by Robert’s seven grandfather drums, feel like it’s their space too. I invited Rebecca Belmore to do an abstract clay painting on the floor, and she very much wanted to do it there because of those drums. It was an homage, in a way, to her own artistic lineage. We now call it Anishinaabe Walker Court. It’s not official, but we’re hoping one day it will be.

We’re bringing the outside in—the outside values that are contained within the seven grandfathers, which is Anishinaabe philosophy and a way of being, and then also the organic material that Rebecca’s working with. Museums that are colonial are used to drawing, painting and sculpture. They’re not made for the practices of our artists, which are performance- and installation-based and use multimedia and organic materials.

“The museum shows what it values by what it gives space to—and where that space is.”

AF: What really struck me is that you talk about land claims within the gallery, as opposed to the regular nomenclature of “real estate.” That shift [in language] is a kind of excising and bringing in the politics of space, land, peoples, other cosmologies and beings. Changing that terminology and bringing those politics in is so important for shifting the ground within these colonial spaces.

WN: [Artist and curator] Jolene Rickard always says sovereignty is an action, not a thing. That’s the part the institution really struggles with, because so much has to change—the value system and foundation that it rests on. You can’t totally and immediately deconstruct the hierarchies of power, in terms of where the money comes from and the structure of decision-making. But if you keep working, it reverberates. It’s like with our elders: They don’t tell us what to do; they display it through action. You learn by watching, listening and being with them. The institution is learning from us and our actions.

AF: Let’s talk about the ways in which rage can help us get to something else. For me, that’s part of how we connect these struggles—be it Palestine, Indigenous displacement or the destruction of Black life. There’s something about rage that brings us together. But it’s also generative; it helps us get to that other place that we might call the “de-colonial.” And it’s the thing that I think many of our institutions try to shut down.

WN: Rage is something I use to keep myself from crying. When I’m hurt, rage helps me through it so I’m not so vulnerable in that moment. But also, from an Anishinaabe point of view, you have to be in touch with your vulnerability while you fight so you don’t become performative without really doing the work to make things happen.

AF: Although there’s so much rage, the rest of the world continues to move along as if [these injustices are] an aberration. They’re not an aberration. And so there’s also a sadness as a result of turning a blind eye to the ways in which all of this is related back to capitalist, patriarchal, heteronormative societies that have gained their strength from nationalist ideas. The whole thing is so tightly related, as Angela Davis has said, yet we keep atomizing it.

WN: That sadness—that’s how I began my day today, and that’s how I will end it. That sadness is centuries old for Black and Indigenous folks. But that’s also what drives me. Sometimes I wonder: “How did I—growing up on a reserve, based on an apartheid system, isolated from the world—end up in the Middle East? How did I end up in these conversations about slavery?” It’s that sadness and relationship with oppression that drive your relationship with other people. How can you not hear their pain? How can you not do something?

AF: The other thing that’s really important for me is the need to recoup those practices that were taken or erased and reshape them. How do we do the hard work of reaching back, particularly for those of us who don’t have a portal? The project I’m working on, The State of Blackness, is a platform that documents those histories so we don’t have to keep recreating the wheel, taking energy away from doing the work of transformation. Art, I believe, is another way.

WN: And [as curators], we pull it out through the artists we work with. It’s a subtle thing, but that’s why I do this work—because I want to dive into these complex issues and bring this knowledge out of the artwork and to an audience.

AF: I’m quite grateful for this moment. There’s a critical mass of us engaged in this work in different ways, in different institutions and outside of them. What’s really hopeful for me is that we know of each other. And I feel we have the knowledge, skill set and criticality to make an indelible mark. I truly believe we are at the place where we can start making some deep shifts within these institutions.

WN: I also gather a lot of hope from the fact that we stand up for each other and with each other. The rise of this virulent form of racism that’s always been present but that’s become so visible and violent worldwide [is because] they know they’re dying out and those ideas are dying out. The death knell has been rung. We’ve got to keep pushing, but we will win.

Share this article